Law of Attraction

LS-law-of-attractionz
Digital Art by Lianne, of Lilipily Spirit

There are a lot of people who ply the concept of the ‘Law of Attraction‘ today. For many, this law includes the ‘Power of Positive Thinking‘ and the ‘Threefold Law(e.g., the energy you send out comes back to you threefold).

I’m all for empowerment and self-empowerment. These are the modes I helped found our business with and which underlie much of what I do, today. However, I often find myself shaking my head about the way some people enact this empowerment, and how little it really empowers them because of a lack of understanding of the metaphysics behind the concept.

While many of my own concepts may seem to belong to ‘New Age‘ modes, I was educated via many different streams of metaphysical lore. Among those streams were ‘Tantra‘ and ‘Vedism‘, and other spiritual modes that not only include the ‘Law of Attraction‘ but also an awareness of the harsher facts of life in our cosmos.

I am therefore often blunt and forthright in the way I speak or write about these things, and don’t always use the ‘flowery sweet‘ words that others seem to want today when being addressed about such matters. I’m not very good at such social niceties because my interest lies in the ‘nitty gritty‘ and that sometimes means not sweetening how people take their dose of it.

That said, I’ve processed a lot of problems and difficulties on many different levels throughout my own life, and I am not just a spiritual being but inhabit a human body that is conformed by the laws that shape the world I live in.

Ergo, like any other human being I sometimes overreact to the judgement calls of others, and only later spring back into spiritual shape. On the other hand, I do have a great compassion and empathy for those who are also prone to the human condition.

I was recently contacted by someone who saw fit to accuse me of behaving badly because I responded vehemently to their uninvited and unfounded attacks upon me. I was told to beware of what would come my way because of my emotional responses, and this person then preached to me that they had good grounding to vindicate their attacks because they followed the ‘Law of Attraction‘.

It never once occurred to this person that my responses to their errant assaults might also be due to the ‘Law of Attraction‘.  It never occurred to them that their responses to my responses were not in order, either.

In the course of my correspondence with them, I was suddenly complained to, and told that I did not care about them or their life, and was only concerned with my own. (Remember, this was a stranger to me).  I was then given details of the problems besetting them, (in a way that said I should have already known them because I claim to have some psychic ability).

I found that astonishing because being psychic doesn’t work that way. I don’t go around with my ‘radar‘ on all the time, ‘sussing out‘ people and their problems, because I live in a human body that is naturally prone to emotions and the ideas that sometimes come from emotional reactions. If I kept myself fully open all the time, I’d just be making myself vulnerable to overload and break down.

So unless something important ‘rings a warning bell‘ inside me, or a message arrives via dream or meditation, or I am asked to focus on something in particular to examine, I act as any other human being does.  I live a fairly ordinary life, like most people, most of the time.

As soon as this person revealed the problems underlying their attack upon me, I did focus on those problems and gave them an answer which, hopefully, will soothe them in time. The assault did, however, make me consider the ‘Law of Attraction‘ and how people process that law.

Let me say this. The ‘Law of Attraction‘ and the ‘Law of Karma‘ are exactly the same thing. However, I process those laws differently to what some others, (and even some of the spiritual streams I was educated in), do.

I do not believe in such laws existing simply to punish us when we ‘are wrong.’ I do not believe that such laws follow us from lifetime to lifetime, throughout reincarnational cycles, to punish us because we ‘were wrong.’

For me, such laws are simply guidance measures.  As I understand it, both of these laws are simply the ‘Law of Consequences.’ This law has no agenda. It is simply an in-built mechanism programmed by the universe, (or the cosmos, or divinity), to enable us to learn and to stay on path to follow the destinies we set ourselves (or the cosmos set for us) prior to birth.

The ‘Law of Consequences‘ is put more simply in psychological terms as being the cumulative responses and returns from what we do, think, say, or act.  In other words, we ‘reap what we sow.’

Just thinking positively, smiling a lot, trying to be serene, or enacting rituals or prayers to encourage divine attention to bless us, in my belief does not automatically give us the high ground of any ‘Law of Attraction.’

If you put your hand onto a hot stove, it may be burnt. If you try to swim without learning how to swim, you may drown. If you go out in the rain without an umbrella, you are likely to get wet.  If you build your home at the base of a volcano, (which never really die), there is always a risk of being around when it erupts. I do not believe that any amount of smiling or trying to be serene in such circumstances is going to prevent or stop these facts from manifesting (though such modes can help you manage the results). These are simply the physical laws embedded in the cosmos you live in.

(It doesn’t mean bad things are always bound to happen, but it does mean there is a great likelihood of them happening because these are features of life in our cosmos).

Our business is based on empowerment. We do believe in activating similar modes of serenity, peace, and adaptable attitudes toward the extreme vicissitudes of life. However, we are also honest in facing the facts that often the best that can be done is to be adaptable in attitude when it becomes apparent that some events are not able to be changed.

That is not being negative.  It is not bad to think that way.  It is just facing up to the facts inherent in all life.

I can think in such ways and still be the spiritually oriented person I am.  I can think in such ways and still enact my own prayers, rituals, and healing modes. Thinking in such ways does not make me in error.  I am simply trying to be in tune with the truth of the universe, where both good and bad can happen.

To accommodate this, think of the physical universe we live in.  Beautiful and fascinating though it is, marvelously creating life and nurturing it, this universe is also an extremely volatile and destructive place.  Planets collide.  Galaxies get swallowed in black holes.  Meteors apparently caused the dinosaurs to become extinct.

None of this makes our cosmos any less wonderful.  None of it needs to shatter our faith in it or belief in divinity (unless we let it).  We can face the facts about the harsh reality of being alive in our universe and still be in loving awe of it.

In our own world, all life is beset by difficulties at some time. No life gets by totally unscathed. Natural disasters and predators are ‘par for the course‘ for life on Earth.  Even if we do nothing wrong to others or to the world for the whole time we are alive, bad things can happen to us, simply because we exist in vulnerable human bodies. I do not believe that this is a devil attacking us. I do not believe that this is evidence of evil in the world.  For me, it is simply the ‘Law of Balance‘ being enacted.

In my view, just as (in Vedic and Buddhist faiths) every god has his goddess, every light has its shadow, and every male/active force has a female/passive balance, so does it mean that even the best human lives are beset with problems and challenges to deal with.

In my estimation, this does not mean that the humans thus beset are ‘bad people‘ or have been ‘behaving badly‘ and are therefore being punished. I believe it is just part of what happens when we incarnate into the ‘Game of Life.’

The bottom line for me in all existence is that we are not just human beings, not just animals, not just plants, trees or mountains, and not just water or sky.  I believe that we are all spirit, and the manifesting elements of the divine… and that we are all immortal, so that when our bodies die we return to the ‘truth of spirit’ and merge with the ‘pool of creation(or god’s mind) again.

For me, this means that it honestly does not matter what happens to our bodies or how we feel affected during our physical life, even if it does seem to hurt or damage us, or creates changes in our behavior from traumatic assaults, because we are not who we think we are.

(This does not mean I don’t care about people or don’t care what happens to me as a human being, or to those I love. I can be caught up in the pain and damage that comes from such events as much as any other person can be – but my perspective at a wholistic point of view is more detached).

What it means, in my view, is that our human lives are a ‘cosmic roleplay‘, that we are characters on the ‘stage of life,‘ and figments of ‘god’s dream,’ which all comes to an end when our bodies die – when we return to who and what we really are, and go on living our lives as spirit.

(I was once an actor and know well how you can bring to life a character in a play, who is affected by terrible things during the course of the play, yet at the end of the play my real self always walked away and I kept on living my own life after the play was over. That is how I view life in the human body. Spirit is to me our ‘real self’, and when the body dies, it goes on living its ‘true life’).

I believe that we are made to think and believe that our human selves are ‘real’ and that all we see and feel around us is ‘real‘. For me, the truth is that the cosmos has embedded some very powerful codes to ensure that our every sensory perception and thought acknowledges that ‘reality‘. (This type of coding is well known to astrologers).

I think that this is so embedded that even spiritually oriented people like myself get involved in that ‘reality’ when we behave like many other human beings and react to assaults upon us (like I did to my recent correspondent).

I’m not saying detach yourself from life and stop being a human being so you can avoid such pain and difficulty.  (I do not believe in avoiding the difficulties of life, because I think we incarnated to experience certain things, and those things may come from processing such difficulties).  Nor am I saying ‘reach for nirvana or heaven’ and try to transcend these worldly difficulties.

I know there are plenty of people who try to do that, today, and others who have done that in one form or another for the whole time humanity has been on Earth.  (It’s what often happens in the spiritual streams I was educated in). Ascetics are taught to detach themselves from the world, to make themselves ‘pure,‘  and to ensure that they are ‘good enough‘ to be accepted by divinity and thereby earn their place in ‘heaven‘ or ‘nirvana(or wherever else they believe their spirit goes when their body dies).

I don’t believe in such things. I don’t believe that we have to ‘make ourselves pure‘ or ‘earn our place‘ in divinity, though I do believe in a sort of ‘heaven‘ or ‘nirvana.’ (Which for me is just a dimensional shift, not really a place – but that’s another story).

For me, we are always ‘pure and innocent‘ as spirit, just as the universe is ‘pure and innocent‘ despite the volatility and violence that is sometimes enacted in it.

For me, we never have to earn our place in divinity because I believe we never stopped being divine. I believe we never left god and god never left us.

I also believe that we simply have been programmed to believe we are separate and experiencing things as a single human being in a world inherent with similar separations.

I think of these separations as only illusions that divinity has created in order to experience relationships. Without relationships, I believe that divinity could not examine itself or its theories effectively. Just as our dreams separate elements into characters, I believe so does the mind of the divine separate the elements of its dreams into us.

In my belief system, the way to transcend the pain and difficulties of life is not to leave it or aspire to leave it. Nor is it to pretend that everything will be okay if we just ask the cosmos to ‘make it all right‘, or to put our ‘heads in the sand‘ and try to ignore the ‘bad stuff’.

Sometimes, asking the cosmos for help does work, which is why metaphysical or spiritual healing can work, and why prayers can manifest results, but I don’t believe it is because we have asked something outside of ourselves to manifest ‘rightness‘. I believe it is because something inside ourselves (our own element of divinity, or higher self) recognizes that we have been holding ourselves back and that it is time to move into better manifestations, or because our connection with someone else stimulates the same in them.

(This does not mean that I do not believe in cosmic helpers of any kind, or that I do not believe in angels and guides and supernatural entities. I do, but in my experience each of these are limited in their ability to help us until we open ourselves to receiving. It is our selves that hold us back, and until we can move past those inner blocks, the supernatural entities outside us can do little but give support and comfort),

I believe we are divine. As elements of the divine, I believe we are always able to ‘spark a new thread in god’s mind’, to focus in a new way and manifest a new beginning –  but first we have to overcome our own embedded programs that have set us on certain paths of manifestation, including what we believe are necessary challenges and obstacles.

If those challenges and obstacles are deemed by us as necessary to complete what we incarnated as human beings to examine, then I do not believe that any amount of praying will change them.  That is no different to the metaphor of someone who is set on climbing a dangerous mountain, despite knowing that many others have died trying, or despite their friends and relatives speaking sensibly about the risks, because they really want to meet that challenge.

In such instances, when things are so well embedded, all we can do is adjust our attitudes, and to be flexible and accommodating toward the modes of existence, despite its challenges, obstacles, pain and tragedies.

That said, thinking positively can be a wonderful thing. Thinking about attracting good and positivity is also a superb action, in the main. These modes are not wrong, but they can be in error when those who use them believe that by thinking that way they will avoid all bad things in life.

I know that it really is possible to bluntly face the facts and darker aspects of existence, and accept them as ‘par for the course‘, and yet live a good life and be spiritual. These modes are the basis of Tantrism.

That brings me to those who consider themselves to be ‘lightworkers‘, ‘healers‘, etc.

I have often seen people who are spiritually advanced in every other way fall into a mess because they are being assailed by problems (as I did when my correspondent attacked me). I have heard them flail and question why such things were happening to them. (I’ve done it myself, for a brief time, on occasion).

Well, in my summation, (apart from acknowledging that they are incarnate in a human body, undergoing the human condition in a pre-programmed world of sensation), I believe that the reason why they are assailed is because they are healers. (That is the revelation that came to me from my recent correspondence).

Just as a doctor is sought out in a hospital by those who are sick, when someone follows the path of ‘light work‘ or ‘metaphysical or spiritual healing’, or even of ‘psychic counseling‘, they are opening up the ‘Law of Attraction‘,  and those who need their help will come to meet them, even if their needs are not immediately obvious.

If you are on a ‘path of higher aspiration‘, you will be challenged along the way, to ensure that it remains the ‘right path‘ for you. This is no different to sitting examinations in school, the results of which determine what career you may actually be suitable for.

If you are on a path of manifesting a ‘call to healing‘ or a ‘call to counseling‘, those who need healing or counseling will be in contact, one way or another.

It happens that when such people come into our lives, they are not always obvious. When such conditions challenge us, we don’t always recognize them for what they are straight away – but they have arrived in answer to the ‘call’ we put out. They arrive in answer to the ‘energy we emit‘.

Those who live spiritual lives are not excused from the laws manifesting in the world. Great spiritual leaders have often made mistakes, (albeit temporary ones), on their path to progress.  They also got sick, sometimes, and eventually died. They were not exempt from the conditions of life.

Those who follow ‘paths of light‘ today are also going to be challenged by the physical world, and its by-products of emotion and thoughts. That’s just what happens to anyone manifesting in a human body. Hey, it is said that even Jesus cried out on the cross in an anguished moment, believing that god had abandoned him.

I do not believe that, just by declaring you are ‘following the Law of Attraction‘, manifesting ‘positive thoughts’, doing all the ‘right things‘, or enacting all the ‘right prayers or rituals‘, it will make one iota of difference if any part of what you expect to ensue from these are ‘just not meant to be‘ for you, right now.

What makes sense for me through all of these conditions is not an attitude of ‘ignorance is bliss‘ or of ‘empowering yourself by magic or prayer or positivity‘, alone  Those who have ever used those modes will know they don’t always work (although it doesn’t hurt to try, because it is difficult sometimes to tell if it’s the right time or not).

Nor do I think that the reason such forms of empowerment don’t work sometimes is because some ‘malign entity is doing dirty work’ against the people trying to use them, or because those people are ‘in error‘ or have ‘behaved badly‘. What I believe is that those people need to find the correct way through the problems besetting them, and that this is usually by learning or finding the skills inherent in themselves to deal with them.

If you think of life as an extremely elaborate computer game and yourself as the hero within it, you may understand that every hero is either born with innate skills or finds treasure and knowledge along the way, to meet whatever comes.

(That’s the nature of magic – the mage gains knowledge and acquires skills to achieve wisdom and self-mastery).

In my view, the greatest skill each and every human being is born with is an ability to adapt. Even those who are highly disabled and extremely limited in life seem to be born with this inherent ability, which enables them to cope despite what assails them.

Therefore, I don’t see facing and acknowledging the flaws and challenges in life or in the lives of those we interact with as bad.

I believe that every healer needs to know the problems that must be healed. I believe that every healing must come from revealing what needs to be healed. I think that by facing and confronting such conditions, we are not condemning or rejecting them but viewing and admitting their need for healing – and I feel that this is the same truth whether the need for healing and refreshment is physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual.

I feel that, by centering yourself in the idea that you are divine spirit using the avatar of a human body to interact with a pre-programmed world of challenges, you can meet whatever comes until ‘game over‘ is declared.

You can call that the ‘power of positive thinking‘, or ‘engaging the law of attraction‘ to manifest self-empowerment, or whatever you like.  I call it truth.

Blessings!
Lianne

Lilipily Spirit – Empower your Life, Connect with the Divine

One thought on “Law of Attraction”

  1. Hi Lianne, I enjoyed this post very much and particularly your clarity about accepting responsibility in the midst of the process whether its flowing with us or apparently against us. The dance of light and dark seems inevitably paradoxical. Thanks for sharing with us. Love, Steve Weis, Kin Kin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

